# Initial proposal for representation arrangements for the 2019 local elections

On 7 August 2018 the Timaru District Council reviewed its representation arrangements, pursuant to section 19H of the Local Electoral Act 2001, and resolved that the following proposal apply for the Council and Community Boards for the elections to be held on 12 October 2019:



# **Council Representation**

It is proposed that the Council comprise nine (9) members elected from three wards, and the Mayor (elected at large).

The three wards reflect the following identified communities of interest:

Ward	Communities of Interest
Timaru Ward	The Timaru Ward is the area delineated on SO Plan No. 19947 deposited with Land Information New Zealand. This is the same as the current Timaru Ward.
Pleasant Point/ Temuka Ward	The Pleasant Point – Temuka Ward is the area delineated by LG-064-2013-W-2 deposited with Land Information New Zealand. This is the same as the current Pleasant Point - Temuka Ward.
Geraldine Ward	The Geraldine Ward is the area delineated on SO Plan No. 19948 deposited with Land Information New Zealand. This is the same as the current Geraldine Ward.

The population that each member will represent is as follows:

Ward	Population*	Members	Population per member
Geraldine	5,730	1	5,730
Pleasant Point/Temuka	9,560	2	4,780
Timaru	31,800	6	5,300
Total	47,090	9	5,232

<sup>\*</sup>Statistics NZ population estimates as at 30 June 2017

In accordance with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the population that each member represents must be within the range of 5,232 +/- 10% (4,709 to 5,755), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise. All three wards are within the stipulated range.

# **Community Board Representation**

It is proposed that three community boards will be elected. The three community boards will be:

<b>Community Boards</b>	Area of Community
Geraldine	Geraldine Community, comprising the area of the Geraldine Ward
Pleasant Point	Pleasant Point Community, comprising the area delineated by the former SO Plan 19946 deposited with Land Information New Zealand.
Temuka	Temuka Community, comprising the area delineated by the former SO Plan 19949 deposited with Land Information New Zealand.

They will not be subdivided for electoral purposes. The Boards are proposed to comprise the following membership:

<b>Community Boards</b>	Elected Members	Appointed Members
Pleasant Point Community Board	5 members elected by the Pleasant Point community as a whole	Two members appointed being the Councillors elected from the Pleasant Point/Temuka Ward
Temuka Community Board	5 members elected by the Temuka community as a whole	Two members appointed being the Councillors elected from the Pleasant Point/Temuka Ward
Geraldine Community Board	6 members elected by the Geraldine community as a whole	One member appointed being the Councillor elected from the Geraldine Ward

#### Reasons

There are no changes proposed to current representation arrangements for the reasons listed below:

- All wards comply with the legislative requirements and provide for fair representation;
- The growth patterns predicted in the District Growth Strategy indicate that compliance will continue in future years;
- The existing ward and community board structure is well understood by the electors;
- The Council is satisfied that the existing structure will continue to provide effective representation for the District's distinct communities of interest; and
- No significant changes have occurred since 2012 to indicate that the Council should be proposing changes to its representation arrangements at this time.

### **Further Information**

Copies of the Council's resolution and maps setting out the areas of the proposed wards and communities and any relevant information may be viewed and obtained online from www.timaru.govt.nz or from:

Geraldine Library/Service Centre

78 Talbot Street, Geraldine

Temuka Library/Service Centre 72-74 King Street, Temuka

Timaru District Council Offices 2 King George Place, Timaru

**Timaru Library**Sophia Street, Timaru

Any queries regarding the Council's proposal should be directed to Mark Low, Corporate Planning Manager, phone 03 6877200 or email mark.low@timdc.govt.nz.

## **Submissions invited**

Persons with an interest in the proposed representation arrangements are invited to make written submissions on the Council's representation proposal.

- Submissions can made online at www.timaru.govt.nz/ representationreview; or
- Emailed to submission@timdc.govt.nz; or
- Sent to Representation Review 2018 Submission, Timaru District Council, PO Box 522, Timaru 7940

Submissions must be received by Council no later than 5pm, Monday 17 September 2018.

Bede Carran Chief Executive 16 August 2018