Emergency Committee

Membership

Chairperson	Mayor Nigel Bowen (or in the Mayor's absence, the Mayor shall appoint a representative)
Deputy Chairperson	Deputy Mayor Steve Wills (or in the Deputy Mayor's absence, the Mayor shall appoint a representative)
Members	All members of Council
Quorum	Two members.
Meeting frequency	As required.

Purpose

• To determine matters within the authority of Council where the urgency of those matters precludes a full meeting of the Council, or emergency legislation is enacted.

Role

- To exercise all Council functions that cannot be exercised by the Council using its standard processes and procedures due to a pandemic, other natural disaster or state of emergency, except for those that:
 - Have been delegated to staff
 - Cannot be delegated pursuant to clause 32 of Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002, or pursuant to any other legislation
- To receive reports from the Chief Executive on any emergency expenditure provided for by the Chief Executive's emergency financial delegation.

Power to Act

- The Emergency Committee can only be activated by resolution of Council for specific events, or where resolution by Council is not possible, on the authority of the Mayor, or in the Mayor's absence, the Deputy Mayor.
- All decisions made by the Emergency Committee will be reported to Council and made publicly available as soon as possible.

Power to Recommend

• The Emergency Committee reports to the Timaru District Council.