

MINUTES

Environmental Services Committee Meeting Tuesday, 14 June 2022

Ref: 1505299



Minutes of Timaru District Council Environmental Services Committee Meeting Held in the Council Chamber, District Council Building, King George Place, Timaru on Tuesday, 14 June 2022 at 9.30am

Present: Barbara Gilchrist (Chairperson), Gavin Oliver (Deputy Chairperson), Mayor

Nigel Bowen, Cr Allan Booth, Cr Peter Burt, Cr Richard Lyon, Cr Paddy O'Reilly,

Cr Sally Parker, Cr Stu Piddington

In Attendance: Bede Carran (Chief Executive), Andrew Dixon (Group Manager Infrastructure),

Hannah Goddard-Coles (Director Engagement & Culture), Beth Stewart-Wright (Director User Experience & Community Engagement), Jason Rivett (Acting Group Manager Commercial & Strategy), Janine Roux (Environment Canterbury Water Zone Facilitator), Phil Mackay (Team Leader & Emergency Management Advisor), Hamish Barrell (District Planning Manager), Lloyd McMillan (Temuka Community Board), Wayne O'Donnell (Geraldine Community Board), Janine

Adams (Geraldine Community Board)

The meeting was opened by Cr Barbara Gilchrist with a Karakia

1 Apologies

Apology

Resolution 2022/5

Moved: Cr Peter Burt

Seconded: Mayor Nigel Bowen

That the apology received from Cr Steve Wills be accepted.

Carried

2 Identification of Items of Urgent Business

No items of urgent business were received

3 Identification of Matters of a Minor Nature

No matters of a minor nature were raised.

4 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest

No conflicts of interest were declared.

5 Chairperson's Report

5.1 Chairperson's report

Since the last Environmental Services Committee meeting the Chairperson has attended the following:

- Council meetings
- Donations & Loans Subcommittee meeting
- Youth Initiatives Subcommittee meeting
- Joint Local Alcohol Policy Committee
- Cityhub Advisory Group & Project Steering Group
- Tenders & Procurement Committee meetings
- Meet with Minister Mahuta MP, Phil Driver & Young Enterprise students
- Council Workshops
- Geraldine Community Board
- CPlay Party in the playground
- Orari Temuka Opihi Pareora Water Zone Committee meetings

Resolution 2022/6

Moved: Chairperson Barbara Gilchrist

Seconded: Cr Peter Burt

That the Chairperson's report be received & noted.

Carried

6 Confirmation of Minutes

6.1 Minutes of the Environmental Services Committee Meeting held on 15 March 2022

Resolution 2022/7

Moved: Cr Sally Parker Seconded: Cr Paddy O'Reilly

That the Minutes of the Environmental Services Committee Meeting held on 15 March 2022 be confirmed as a true and correct record of that meeting and that the Chairperson's electronic signature be attached.

Carried

7 Reports

7.1 Orari-Temuka-Opihi-Pareora Water Zone Committee update

Environment Canterbury Water Zone Facilitator spoke to this report to provide an update to the Environmental Services Committee on the current and planned activities of the Orari-Temuka-Opihi-Pareora Water Zone Committee (OTOP).

Resolution 2022/8

Moved: Chairperson Barbara Gilchrist

Seconded: Cr Peter Burt

That the Environmental Services Committee receive and note the Orari-Temuka-Opihi-Pareora

Water Zone Committee update

Carried

7.2 Public Alerting Siren System

The Team Leader & Emergency Management Advisor spoke to this report to update the Environmental Services Committee on progress on the Public Alerting Siren System (PASS) project and a recommended change in scope of this project.

Resolution 2022/9

Moved: Mayor Nigel Bowen

Seconded: Chairperson Barbara Gilchrist

That the Environmental Services Committee approve

- 1. That the Public Alerting Siren System replacement schedule be reduced to replacing only six (6) sirens.
- 2. That the budget of \$280,000 initially allocated to this project for years 3 to 5 years of the 2021-31 Long Term Plan be brought forward and included in the 2022/23 Annual Plan to enable stage 1 of this project to be completed.

Carried

7.3 Road Naming Proposal - Timaru Developments Limited, Timaru

The District Planning Manager spoke to this report to present a road naming proposal to the Environmental Services Committee members for consideration.

Resolution 2022/10

Moved: Cr Peter Burt

Seconded: Chairperson Barbara Gilchrist

That the proposed road within the site associated with Subdivision Consent 101.2021.228 by Timaru Developments Limited to be named Mizzen Road.

Carried

7.4 Road Naming Proposal - Former RSA Site

The District Planning Manager spoke to this report to present a road naming proposal to the Environmental Services Committee members for consideration.

Resolution 2022/11

Moved: Chairperson Barbara Gilchrist

Seconded: Cr Sally Parker

That the proposed road within the site associated with Subdivision Consent 101.2021.59 for Homeline Developments Limited to be named Mahara Place.

Carried

7.5 Road Naming Proposal - Baybury Holdings Limited, Geraldine

The District Planning Manager spoke to this report to present a road naming proposal to the Environmental Services Committee members for consideration.

Resolution 2022/12

Moved: Deputy Chairperson Gavin Oliver

Seconded: Mayor Nigel Bowen

That the proposed road within the site associated with Subdivision Consent 101.2020.79 by Baybury Holdings Limited to be named McQuade Road.

Carried

8 Consideration of Urgent Business Items

No items of urgent business were received

9 Consideration of Minor Nature Matters

No matters of a minor nature were raised.

The Meeting closed at 9:44am.

Cr Barbara Gilchrist

Chairperson