

MINUTES

Extraordinary Council Meeting Tuesday, 30 January 2024

Ref: 1647799



Minutes of Timaru District Council Extraordinary Council Meeting Held in the Council Chamber, District Council Building, King George Place, Timaru on Tuesday, 30 January 2024 at 1pm

Present: Mayor Nigel Bowen (Chairperson), Clrs Allan Booth, Peter Burt, Sally Parker, Stu

Piddington, Stacey Scott, Scott Shannon, Michelle Pye, Owen Jackson

Officers: Nigel Trainor (Chief Executive), Andrew Dixon (Infrastructure Manager), Beth

Stewert (Group Manager Community Services), Stephan Doran (Communications and Engagement Manager) Jessica Kavanaugh (Team Leader

Governance) Rachel Scarlett (Governance Advisor)

1 Apologies

1.1 Apologies Received

Resolution 2024/1

Moved: Mayor Nigel Bowen Seconded: Clr Michelle Pye

That the apology of Clr Gavin Oliver be received and accepted.

Carried

2 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest

No conflicts of interest were declared.

3 Reports

4.1 Discontinuation of 3 Waters Court of Appeal Action

Mayor Nigel Bowen spoke to the report to seek a Council resolution to withdraw formally from its appeal of the High Court decision of 21 February 2023 in *Timaru District Council and Ors v Minister of Local Government* [2023] NZHC 244 [CIV-2021-485-641].

There was clarification on the status of the other two councils part of the appeal with the Timaru District Council. The Waimakariri Council has a upcoming meeting to formally withdraw, and the Whāngarei Council did not formally rejoin the appeal.

Resolution 2024/2

Moved: Mayor Nigel Bowen

Seconded: Clr Peter Burt

That Council:

- 1. <u>Approve</u> the withdrawal of the appeal from the High Court decision of *Timaru District Council* and *Ors v Minister of Local Government* [2023] NZHC 244 [CIV-2021-485-641].
- 2. <u>Note</u> that there will be modest legal costs associated with the withdrawal of the appeal but that these will be substantially less than continuing with the appeal.

Carried

The meeting closed at 1.06pm.

Minutes Confirmed 13 February 2024.

Mayor Nigel Bowen

Chairperson