

MINUTES

Infrastructure Committee Meeting Tuesday, 21 July 2020

Ref: 1355707



Minutes of Timaru District Council Infrastructure Committee Meeting

Held in the Council Chamber, Timaru District Council Building, 2 King George Place, Timaru on Tuesday, 21 July 2020 at 9.33am

Present:Cr Sally Parker (Chairperson), Cr Paddy O'Reilly (Deputy Chairperson), Cr Allan
Booth, Cr Peter Burt, Cr Barbara Gilchrist, Cr Richard Lyon, Cr Gavin Oliver, Cr
Stu Piddington, Cr Steve Wills, Mayor Nigel BowenIn Attendance:Community Board Representatives
Temuka Community Board – Lloyd McMillan
Pleasant Point Community Board – Anne Lemmens
Geraldine Community Board – Jennine Maguire
Council Officers
Acting Group Manager Infrastructure (Erik Barnes), Chief Executive (Bede
Carran), Land Transport Manager (Andrew Dixon), Roading Network Team
Leader (Susannah Ratahi), Asset Management Systems Analyst (Richard Lovell),
Waste Minimisation Manager (Ruth Clarke), Governance Advisor (Jo Doyle)

The Chairperson welcomed the Community Board members to the meeting.

1 Apologies

There were no apologies.

2 Identification of Items of Urgent Business

There were no items of urgent business.

3 Identification of Matters of a Minor Nature

There were no items of minor nature.

4 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest

There were no conflicts of interest.

5 Chairperson's Report

The Chairperson reported on meetings she had attended since the last meeting including:

- Downlands Joint Standing Committee
- Metro transport launch
- Annual Plan Hearing
- Council meetings
- Meetings with Council officers
- Workshops.

Resolution 2020/18

Moved: Cr Sally Parker Seconded: Cr Barbara Gilchrist That the Chairpersons report be received.

Carried

6 Confirmation of Minutes

6.1 Minutes of the Downlands Water Supply Committee Meeting held on 15 June 2020

Resolution 2020/19

Moved: Mayor Nigel Bowen Seconded: Cr Peter Burt

That the Minutes of the Downlands Water Supply Committee Meeting held on 15 June 2020 be received.

Carried

7 Reports

7.1 Road Efficiency Group Report

The Committee was updated by the Land Transport Manager, Roading Network Team Leader and Asset Management Systems Analyst on the recent Road Efficiency Group (REG) reports on the performance and management of the road network.

The areas where Timaru District Council is performing better than their peers are cost efficiency, road safety, project management and procurement. Overall Timaru District Council's cost efficiency and risk is considered low.

Road safety is always improving, and the way in which service requests are processed is being considered as the system is very manual. An automated system is being investigated.

A process of mapping roads via a truck with lasers and cameras is allowing the Land Transport Unit to identify risks early, which allows high risk roads to be targeted for maintenance. This data is essential, and has paid dividends.

The procurement process is being considered with training scheduled to ensure the correct procurement strategy is in place. Collaboration South Canterbury-wide is an important consideration.

Resolution 2020/20

Moved: Mayor Nigel Bowen Seconded: Cr Barbara Gilchrist

That the report be received and the information noted.

Carried

7.2 South Canterbury Waste Minimisation and Management Services Memorandum of Understanding

The Committee considered a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Waimate and Mackenzie District Councils relating to the processing and disposal of solid waste at the Redruth Resource Recovery Park.

The MOU continues an historic arrangement with Waimate and Mackenzie, and the contract will formalise and update this arrangement.

Resolution 2020/21

Moved: Cr Steve Wills Seconded: Cr Paddy O'Reilly

That the Memorandum of Understanding is approved.

Carried

8 Consideration of Urgent Business Items

There were no urgent business items.

9 Consideration of Minor Nature Matters

There were no minor nature items.

The Meeting closed at 10.03am.

Minutes confirmed 1 September 2020

.....

Deputy Chairperson Cr Paddy O'Reilly