

MINUTES

Pleasant Point Community Board Meeting Tuesday, 12 November 2019

Ref: 1295820



Minutes of Timaru District Council Pleasant Point Community Board Meeting Held in the Pleasant Point Town Hall on Tuesday, 12 November 2019 at 7.30pm

- Present: Clr Richard Lyon, Mr John McDonald (Deputy Chairperson), Clr Paddy O'Reilly, Mrs Raewyn Hessell, Mr Neville Gould, Mr Ross Munro, Ms Anne Lemmens
- In Attendance: Mayor Nigel Bowen, Bede Carran (Chief Executive), Jo Doyle (Governance Advisor)

1 Declarations by Pleasant Point Community Board Members

The Chief Executive advised the Community Board of the requirement for Councillors to take declarations for the respective Community Boards.

Neville Gould, Raewyn Hessell, Anne Lemmens, John McDonald and Ross Munro who as a result of the elections held during the period commencing on Friday 20 September 2019 and ending on Saturday 12 October 2019, were duly elected as members of the Pleasant Point Community Board, made and signed declarations as required by the provisions of Clause 14, Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002.

Clr Paddy O'Reilly and Clr Richard Lyon who as a result of the elections held during the period commencing on Friday 20 September 2019 and ending on Saturday 12 October 2019, were duly elected as members of the Timaru District, and who at the Inaugural Timaru District Council meeting on 31 October 2019 were appointed to the Pleasant Point Community Board pursuant to Section 19F of the Local Electoral Act 2001, made and signed declarations in respect of their membership of the Pleasant Point Community Board, as required by the provisions of Clause 14, Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002.

2 Election of Chairperson

The Board considered a report by the Chief Executive on the voting system to be used for the appointment of a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson and to appoint a Chairperson to the Pleasant Point Community Board.

Committee Resolution 2019/10

Moved: John McDonald Seconded: Clr Richard Lyon

That Voting system B be used for the appointment of the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson.

Carried

Committee Resolution 2019/11

Moved: John McDonald Seconded: Anne Lemmens

That Clr Richard Lyon be appointed Chairperson of the Pleasant Point Community Board.

Carried

Clr Richard Lyon took the Chair.

3 Election of Deputy Chairperson

The Chairperson called for nominations for the position of Deputy Chairperson to the Pleasant Point Community Board.

Committee Resolution 2019/12

Moved: Raewyn Hessell Seconded: Neville Gould

That John McDonald be appointed as Deputy Chairperson of the Pleasant Point Community Board.

Carried

4 Apologies

There were no apologies.

5 Public Forum

There was no Public Forum.

6 Identification of Items of Urgent Business

No matters of Urgent Business were raised.

7 Identification of Matters of a Minor Nature

No matters of a Minor Nature were raised.

8 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest

There were no declarations of conflicts of interest.

9 Chairman's Report

The Chairman provided a brief report on general business with Council since last meeting and welcomed Anne Lemmens and Ross Munro as new members of the Community Board. He thanked Anne for her former role as the Talking Point Editor for 14 years, and noted that the new editor is Andrew Swallow.

10 Reports

10.4 General Explanation by the Chief Executive

The Board considered a general explanation by the Chief Executive on key legislation applying to members of the Community Boards.

Committee Resolution 2019/13

Moved: Richard Lyon Seconded: John McDonald

That the Community Board notes the advice of the Chief Executive regarding key legislation that applies to members of the Community Boards.

Carried

7.5 Appointment of Community Board Representatives to Organisations

The Board considered a report by the Chief Executive on the appointment of members of the Pleasant Point Community Board to the local organisations.

Committee Resolution 2019/14

Moved: Paddy O'Reilly Seconded: Raewyn Hessell

That the Pleasant Point Community Board recommends to Council that John McDonald be appointed to the Pleasant Point Railway and Historical Society.

Carried

Committee Resolution 2019/15

Moved: Richard Lyon Seconded: Neville Gould

That the Pleasant Point Community Board recommends to Council that Anne Lemmens be appointed as a non-voting liaison member to the Pleasant Point Domain Users Committee.

Carried

Committee Resolution 2019/16

Moved: John McDonald Seconded: Ross Munro

That Raewyn Hessell and Clr Richard Lyon be appointed as a non-voting liaison members to the Pleasant Point Promotions Committee.

Carried

Committee Resolution 2019/17

Moved: Anne Lemmens Seconded: Richard Lyon

That Neville Gould be appointed as a non-voting liaison member to the Opihi River Liaison Committee (ECan Committee).

Carried

7.6 Community Board Meeting Dates

The Board noted the proposed meeting dates for 2020 and discussed the starting time for future meetings, with the suggestion that meetings begin at 7.00pm.

Committee Resolution 2019/18

Moved: Raewyn Hessell Seconded: John McDonald

- 1. That the Pleasant Point Community Board 2020 meeting dates be noted as follows:
 - 21 January
 - 3 March
 - 21 April
 - 26 May
 - 7 July
 - 18 August
 - 6 October
 - 17 November.
- 2. That future Board meetings commence at 7.00pm

Carried

2 Consideration of Urgent Business Items

There were no items of urgent business.

3 Consideration of Minor Nature Matters

There were no items of a minor nature.

4 Public Forum Issues Requiring Consideration

The Mayor congratulated the Board Members on their election to the Pleasant Point Community Board and encouraged any feedback from all members at any time. He explained that he wants to be involved in the community, is looking forward to invitations to community events and intends to be at as many Community Board meetings as possible.

The Meeting closed at 8.08pm.

Minutes confirmed 3 March 2020.

Cr Richard Lyon Chairperson