

MINUTES

Infrastructure Committee Meeting Tuesday, 28 January 2020

Ref: 1316419



Minutes of Timaru District Council Infrastructure Committee Meeting

Held in the Council Chamber, Timaru District Council Building, 2 King George Place, Timaru on Tuesday, 28 January 2020 at 9.03am

- Present:Cr Sally Parker (Chairperson), Cr Paddy O'Reilly (Deputy Chairperson), Cr Allan
Booth, Cr Peter Burt, Cr Barbara Gilchrist, Cr Richard Lyon, Cr Gavin Oliver, Cr
Stu Piddington, Cr Steve Wills, Mayor Nigel Bowen
- In Attendance: Community Board Representatives Temuka Community Board – Ali Talbot Point Community Board – Ross Munro Geraldine Community Board - Wayne O'Donnell

Council Officers

Acting Group Manager Infrastructure (Erik Barnes), Land Transport Manager (Andrew Dixon) for Item 7.1, Waste Minimisation Manager (Ruth Clarke) for Item 7.2, Governance Advisor (Jo Doyle)

1 Apologies

No apologies were received.

2 Identification of Items of Urgent Business

No matters of Urgent Business were identified.

3 Identification of Matters of a Minor Nature

No matters of a Minor Nature were identified.

4 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest

No conflicts of interest were declared.

5 Chairperson's Report

The Chair welcomed the Community Board membes and Acting Group Manager Erik Barnes and thanked staff for the early deliver of the Committee Agenda.

Meetings attended include, Washyke Industrial Expansion Zone Stakeholder workshop, ODPT workshop, Patricial Callaghan from Deputy Leader of the London Borough of Camden, Waste Transformation, Stormwater Management Plan Tenderers Briefing.

A meeting with Acting Group Manager of Infrastructure Erik Barnes and attended the drop in session for the future of Highfield recreation area.

Committee Resolution 2020/1

Moved: Cr Peter Burt

That the Chairperson's Report be received.

Carried

6 Confirmation of Minutes

6.1 Minutes of the Infrastructure Committee Meeting held on 26 November 2019

Committee Resolution 2020/2

Moved: Cr Peter Burt Seconded: Mayor Nigel Bowen

That the Minutes of the Infrastructure Committee Meeting held on 26 November 2019 be confirmed as a true and correct record of that meeting.

Carried

6.2 Minutes of the Downlands Water Supply Committee Meeting held on 2 December 2019

Committee Resolution 2020/3

Moved: Mayor Nigel Bowen Seconded: Cr Paddy O'Reilly

That the draft Minutes of the Downlands Water Supply Committee Meeting held on 2 December 2019 be received.

Carried

6.3 Minutes of the Extraordinary Infrastructure Committee Meeting held on 17 December 2019

Committee Resolution 2020/4

Moved: Cr Steve Wills Seconded: Cr Barbara Gilchrist

That the Minutes of the Extraordinary Infrastructure Committee Meeting held on 17 December 2019 be confirmed as a true and correct record of that meeting.

Carried

7 Reports

7.1 Rangitata Flooding Event - Road Infrastructure Damage Funding

The Land Transport Manager provided an overview of the Rangitata flooding event in November and explained the damage is currently being repaired.

The existing budget does not have funding provision for these emergency repairs and if required to be managed within current budgets this would significantly impact on the planned and budgeted ongoing works. There is no insurance provided for road assets. However, NZ Transport Agency (NZTA) will assist with additional funding and have provisionally approved a higher financial assistance rate because of the scale of the event.

The claims are made progressively each month to NZTA.

Discussion was held that the Council Disaster Relief fund is there for this exact purpose so that funding for repairs are not removed from business as usual activities and then impact on Council's level of service. This fund may need to be reviewed and topped up when the Annual Plan is considered as the changing weather patterns could mean further funds needed in the future.

Committee Resolution 2020/5

Moved: Cr Steve Wills Seconded: Cr Richard Lyon

 That the road infrastructure initial response and recovery local share costs associated with the December 2019 Rangitata River flood event up to a total cost of \$1,900,000 excluding GST, requiring a Council local share of \$817,000 excluding GST to be funded from the Council Disaster Relief fund.

Carried

7.2 Reducing Waste: A More Effective Landfill Levy Consultation Submission

The Waste Minimisation Manager spoke to the report and explained that the Waste Levy has not changed from the initial \$10/tonne in 10 years which has meant there has been little incentive to change waste behaviour.

Discussions were held around the current landfill and how long it is expected to last before reaching capacity. The current landfill life is 25-27 years, however, there is a trend that the annual tonnes to landfill are increasing so this period could be shortened.

The increased Levy revenue would be used to extend the life of the landfill by an increase in recycling and waste minimisation activities and education for the community that results in removing the waste from the landfill.

The levy is projected to increase to \$50-\$60/tonne from the current \$10/tonne , however, the Waste Minimisation Manager advised that research is showing that international levels are more in line with \$100 plus for this levy and further increases are possible in the longer term.

From the levy received by government, 50% is expected to be available for Territorial Authorities as stipulated in the Waste Minimisation Act 2008 for waste minimisation projects, and the projects and budgets will be put forward during the LTP planning to comply with the legislative requirements.

Committee Resolution 2020/6

Moved: Cr Barbara Gilchrist

Seconded: Cr Steve Wills

That the Infrastructure Committee provides feedback for inclusion in the draft submission to the Reducing Waste: A More Effective Landfill Levy consultation, and provisionally approves the submission.

Carried

5 Consideration of Urgent Business Items

No matters of Urgent Business were considered.

6 Consideration of Minor Nature Matters

No matters of a Minor Nature were considered.

The Meeting closed at 9.20am.

Minutes confirmed 10 March 2020.

Chairperson Cr Sally Parker