



NOTICE OF 2022 TRIENNIAL LOCAL AUTHORITY ELECTIONS

The following elections will be held by postal vote on Saturday 8 October 2022.



Timaru District Council

(First Past the Post electoral system)

Election of the mayor

Election of one councillor for the Geraldine Ward

Election of two councillors for the Pleasant Point - Temuka Ward

Election of six councillors for the Timaru Ward

Election of six members for the Geraldine Community Board

Election of five members for the Pleasant Point Community Board

Election of five members for the Temuka Community Board



Geraldine Licensing Trust

(First Past the Post electoral system)

Election of six member for the Geraldine Licensing Trust

Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting papers.

Nominations

Nominations for the listed positions open on **Friday 15 July 2022** and must be made on the appropriate nomination form for each position. Nomination forms and a candidate information handbook can be found either on the Timaru District Council website, or by request to the electoral officer via the contact options listed below. Completed nomination documents must be received by the electoral officer no later than **12noon on Friday 12 August 2022**. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of \$200 incl GST, payable by eftpos, cash or on-line banking (see candidate handbook for requirements).

Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate profile statement and colour photograph with their nomination, for sending out with voting documents to electors. The requirements for profile statements and photos are set out in a candidate handbook which is available with the nomination forms. All nomination documents must be lodged together.

Electoral Rolls

Preliminary electoral rolls for these elections can be inspected at the following locations during office hours from Friday 15 July 2022 to Friday 12 August 2022.

- Timaru District Council Offices, 2 King George Place, Timaru
- Timaru Library, Sophia Street, Timaru

- Temuka TDC Library/Service Centre, 72-74 King Street, Temuka
- Geraldine TDC Library/Service Centre, 78 Talbot Street, Geraldine

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by contacting the Electoral Commission:

- Online at www.vote.nz
- By texting your name and address to 3676 to get a form sent to you
- By calling 0800 36 76 56 to ask for a form to be sent to you
- By email request to enquiries@elections.govt.nz

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 5pm on Friday 12 August 2022.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available from the Council website or Electoral Officer and must be returned to the Timaru District Council electoral officer before 5pm Friday 12 August 2022.

Following closure of the roll, the Electoral Officer may, on application of any person who is or claims to be entitled to be enrolled or any other person or otherwise, make any necessary corrections to the names, addresses, occupations, abbreviations, or marks appearing in the electoral roll.

Mark Low
Electoral Officer – Timaru District Council/Geraldine Licensing Trust 2 King George Palace, Timaru
elections@timdc.govt.nz
(03) 687 7200
www.timaru.govt.nz