

MINUTES

Environmental Services Committee Meeting Tuesday, 24 November 2020

Ref: 1391277



Minutes of Timaru District Council Environmental Services Committee Meeting Held in the Council Chamber, District Council Building, King George Place, Timaru on Tuesday, 24 November 2020 at 9.34am

- Present:Barbara Gilchrist (Chairperson), Gavin Oliver (Deputy Chairperson), Cr Allan
Booth via Video Link, Cr Peter Burt, Cr Richard Lyon, Cr Paddy O'Reilly, Cr Stu
Piddington, Cr Steve Wills, Mayor Nigel Bowen
- In Attendance: Community Board Representatives Temuka Community Board – Gaye Broker Geraldine Community Board – Jan Finlayson

Council Officers Group Manager Environmental Services (Tracy Tierney), Chief Executive (Bede Carran), Governance Advisor (Jo Doyle)

1 Apologies

Resolution 2020/24

Moved: Chairperson Barbara Gilchrist Seconded: Mayor Nigel Bowen

That apologies from Cr Sally Parker, Tewera King and Anne Lemmens of Pleasant Point Community Board be received and accepted.

Carried

2 Identification of Items of Urgent Business

There was no urgent business.

3 Identification of Matters of a Minor Nature

The Group Manager Environmental Services will provide an update.

4 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest

There were no conflicts of interest.

5 Chairperson's Report

The Chairperson reported that she has attended a variety of Council and Committee meetings including Youth Initiatives, Donations and Loans, People and Performance Committee, ITO Training awards, City Hub workshops, OTOP meetings, two catchment group meetings and ECan/TDC Governance meetings.

Resolution 2020/25

Moved: Chairperson Barbara Gilchrist Seconded: Cr Steve Wills

That the Chairpersons report be accepted.

Carried

6 Confirmation of Minutes

6.1 Minutes of the Environmental Services Committee Meeting held on 1 September 2020

Resolution 2020/26

Moved: Cr Steve Wills Seconded: Cr Paddy O'Reilly

That the Minutes of the Environmental Services Committee Meeting held on 1 September 2020 be confirmed as a true and correct record of that meeting.

Carried

7 Consideration of Urgent Business Items

There were no urgent business items.

8 Consideration of Minor Nature Matters

Group Manager Environmental Services advised there were no reports that required consideration at this Committee, but the following areas were updated for the Committee:

The Draft District Plan

There have been 18 one on one meetings on a range of topics, 3 community meetings with local Hut residents and land owners were invited to workshops on the effects of Coastal Hazards.

The Community Boards have had presentations at their meetings, and there have been meetings held or coming up with the Chamber of Commerce, Federated Farmers, PrimePort, Venture Timaru and the CBD Executive. A deadline was set for 30 November for feedback, however the team will continue to receive this feedback up until Christmas.

The Planning Team are seeking as much feedback as possible, and encourage Councillors to assist any community members by directing them to the EPlan, or to contact Planning staff directly.

An apology was made for the upset caused by the error in the Draft Plan in regards to Rural Boundary Setbacks, the error is to be corrected, and will be included as a change for the proposed plan.

All changes are tracked so therefore highly transparent. There was disappointment that Council was not contacted by the media to comment on this story, before it was published.

Buildings

The move to online processing is due to go live at the end of this week, the building team are working closely with the industry and builders. This is a large project, coupled with significant activity leading

up to Christmas which is slowing down processing of contents currently, and resources are being utilised as much as possible.

City Hub

There is a drop-in session today between 4 and 6pm and then a presence at the Artisan market on 12th December. Already there has been good feedback and thoughtful submissions received.

A draft is expected to be presented to Council early 2021.

The Meeting closed at 9.45am.

Minutes confirmed 2 February 2021.

.....

Cr Barbara Gilchrist Chairperson