Sister cities

Council information

In this section

Many countries throughout the world participate in "Sister City" programmes on the basis that international relationships can be strengthened through people to people links in activities such as arts, culture, education,sport and trade.

Timaru District has four Sister Cities:

Image of the Australian flag.Orange, New South Wales, Australia - established April 1986

Nicknamed "Australia's Colour City," . Named after the Prince of Orange in 1846, the Australian city has a rich history - partly due to its gold mines. It is also famed as the birthplace of Australia's well-known poet, Banjo Paterson, and one of Australia's most important modern poets, Kenneth Slessor.

Image of the American flag.Orange, California, United States of America - established October 1990

The City of Orange was incorporated on April 6, 1888 under the general laws of the State of California. It has population of 136,578 is situated in Central Orange County, approximately 32 miles southeast of Los Angeles. The City's land area is 27 square miles. The City's planning area is 38 square miles, with a "Sphere of Influence" area of 55 square miles.

Image of the Chinese flag.Weihai, Shandong Province, People's Republic of China - established July 1999

Weihai, known in the past as the Weihai Garrison or Weihaiwei is a prefecture-level city in eastern Shandong Province Peoples Republic of China. The easternmost prefecture-level city in the province and a major seaport, Weihai borders Yantai to the west and looks out to the Yellow Sea to the east.

Image of the Japanese flag.Eniwa, Japan - established February 2008

Eniwa is a city located in Ishikari, Hokkaidō, the Northern Island of Japan. During the Meiji period pioneers came from the town of Waki, located in Yamaguchi prefecture, and built the foundation of what is today Eniwa. Today's city was founded on November 1, 1970.



The Timaru Sister Cities Committee continues to foster cultural and economic exchanges and further promote overseas relationships. Official civic visits have been associated with establishing and furthering the relationships and a considerable number of visits and exchanges by individuals, sports teams and school students have taken place.



For further information contact:

The Secretary Timaru Sister Cities Committee
Phone: (03) 687 7200

Click here to view the Sister-Cities New Zealand website.


National Office:

Sister Cities New Zealand
c/- 20 Singers Road,
Korokoro Wellington,
New Zealand
Phone: (04) 586 3145
Fax:  (04) 586 3144

Last updated: 24 Feb 2021