Local Elections 2022

Local Elections 2022

Local Elections 2022

Local Elections Vote 2022 Maori Local Elections Vote 2022

Local Elections for City, District and Regional Councils, and Licensing Trusts will be held on Saturday 8 October 2022.

Voting close at 12Noon Saturday 8 October.

Votes can be dropped into ballot boxes at the Timaru District Council main office, service centres in Temuka or Geraldine and at Timaru Library until 12 Noon Saturday 8 October.

Special votes are available at the Timaru District Council main office or service centres in Temuka or Geraldine until 12Noon Saturday 8 October.

Local Elections in the Timaru District

Local Authority Electoral System No. of Candidates elected
Timaru District Council   
Mayor First Past The Post (FPP) 1
Council (9 Councillors):   
  • Geraldine Ward
FPP1 Councillor
  • Pleasant Point-Temuka Ward
FPP2 Councillors
  • Timaru Ward
FPP6 Councillors
Geraldine Community Board FPP 6 Members
Pleasant Point Community Board FPP 5 Members
Temuka Community Board FPP 5 Members
Environment Canterbury (South Canterbury/Ōtuhituhi Constituency) FPP2 Members
Geraldine Licensing Trust FPP 6 Members

Information of interest to voters and candidates will be placed on these webpages as it becomes available:

Key Dates

Key dates for the 2022 local elections are:

By 15 July 2022Public notice of election,calling for nominations, roll open for inspection
Friday 15 July 2022Nominations open. Electoral Roll opens for inspection.
Friday 12 August 2022Nominations close at 12 NOON. Electoral Roll closes.
Wednesday 17 August 2022 (as soon as practicable)Public notice of day of election, candidates’ names
16 - 21 September 2022Delivery of voting documents
16 September – 8 October 2022Voting and Special voting period. Early processing period.
8 October 2022Election Day (voting closes at 12 Noon). Progress/Preliminary results announced.
8 - 13 October 2022Official Count
13 - 19 October 2022 (or as soon as practicable)Declaration of Final Result/Public Notice of results

The elections you can vote in depend on where you live in the district. The elections are held by postal vote.

The Timaru District Council and Geraldine Licensing Trust elections are both conducted under the First Past the Post (FPP) system.

The elections are conducted under the:

More about local government and elections can be found on this page - www.votelocal.co.nz

Voting Returns

Voting returns to date for the Local elections can be found below. This is updated at the end of each day.

Timaru District Voting Returns

Public Notices

These will be added when available (see timetable above).

Pre-Election Report

Candidate Information Meeting

A meeting was held on Thursday 7 July, 6pm to provide information for candidates, including on the elections process and work of the agencies for which elections are being held. Go here for further information or contact the Electoral Officer on (03) 687 7200 or email elections@timdc.govt.nz.

Elections - Frequently Asked Questions

Keep an eye on these pages for further updates.

Last updated: 19 May 2022