Website Search


Timaru Ward By-election 2017

For more information, please click here.

2016 Local Elections

Local Elections for City, District and Regional Councils, District Health Boards and Licensing Trusts were held on Saturday 8 October 2016. In Timaru District, elections were held for:

Local Authority Electoral System No. of Candidates elected
Timaru District Council   
Mayor First Past The Post (FPP) 1
Council (9 Councillors):   
  • Geraldine Ward
FPP1 Councillor
  • Pleasant Point-Temuka Ward
FPP2 Councillors
  • Timaru Ward
FPP6 Councillors
Geraldine Community Board FPP 6 Members
Pleasant Point Community Board FPP 5 Members
Temuka Community Board FPP 5 Members
Environment Canterbury (South Canterbury Constituency) FPP1 Councillor
South Canterbury District Health Board Single Transferable Vote (STV) 7 Members
Geraldine Licensing Trust FPP 6 Members

Information of interest to voters and candidates will be placed on these pages as it becomes available:

Key Dates

Refer below for the key dates for the 2016 elections:

By 15 July 2016Public notice of election,calling for nominations, roll open for inspection
Friday 15 July 2016Nominations open. Electoral Roll opens forinspection.
Friday 12 August 2016Nominations close at 12 NOON. Electoral Roll closes
Wed 17 August 2016 (as soon as practicable)Public notice of day ofelection, candidates’ names
16 - 21 September 2016Delivery of votingdocuments
16 September – 8 October2016Voting and Special votingperiod. Early processing period.
8 October 2016Election Day (voting closes at 12 Noon). Progress/Preliminaryresults announced.
8 - 13 October 2016Official Count
13 - 19 October 2016 (as soon as practicable)Declaration of Final Result/PublicNotice of results

The elections you vote in depend on where you live in the district. The elections are held by postal vote.

The Timaru District Council and Geraldine Licensing Trust elections are conducted under the First Past the Post (FPP) system. The South Canterbury District Health Board elections are conducted using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system. More information on the STV system can be found at

The elections are conducted under the Local Electoral Act 2001, the Local Electoral Regulations 2001, NZ Public Health and Disability Act 2000, Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 and the Local Government Act 2002.

Keep an eye on this page for further updates.

Publish Date: 17 Jun 2016