District Licensing Committee

Liquor Control

In this section

The Timaru, Mackenzie and Waimate District Licensing Committees (DLCs) are responsible for applications under the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 and its regulations, in their respective districts.

Functions of the DLC include:

  • Determining applications for licences, managers’ certificates and renewals;
  • Determining temporary authority applications;
  • Varying, suspending or cancelling special licences;
  • Referring applications to Alcohol Regulatory & Licensing Authority (ARLA);
  • Conducting inquiries and making reports as required by ARLA; and
  • Other functions conferred on it by any Act.

Please note that the District Licensing Committee has a compulsory shut down between 20 December and 15 January. What this means is that any applications received during this period will not be processed until after 15 January and these are not counted as working days.  We are available in the office during this period to answer any enquiries.

A DLC is made up of a Chair or Commissioner and two members who have terms of office, for a period of up to five years.

The DLC makes decisions by majority vote, with three members hearing any opposed application and temporary authorities. The current people approved to be members of each DLC are:

Timaru District Licensing Committee

  • Sharyn Cain (Commissioner)
  • Peter Burt (Deputy Chairperson)
  • Gavin Oliver
  • Stu Piddington

Mackenzie District Licensing Committee

  • Sharyn Cain (Commissioner)
  • Anne Munro
  • Murray Cox
  • Scott Aronsen

Waimate District Licensing Committee

  • Sharyn Cain (Commissioner)
  • Craig Rowley (Deputy Chairperson)

Each of the three District Councils have appointed members from the other two DLC’s so that they can use those members should any conflicts of interest in an application be notified by the members in their district (or if a member is unavailable on a date set for a hearing).

Where no objections have been filed, and no matters of opposition have been raised, the Commissioner, Chairperson or Deputy Chairperson alone may decide any of the following applications:

  • An application for a licence;
  • An application for a manager's certificate;
  • An application for renewal of a licence or manager's certificate

The DLC may decide to consider an application which is unopposed either on the papers or at a public hearing.

For further information see the Standard Licencing Procedure Guide, available for download below.


Mackenzie District

Timaru District

Last updated: 15 Feb 2023