Timaru District Council Elections - Electoral System Policy


1.0    Purpose

The purpose of the policy is to state the electoral system to be used for Timaru District Council local elections.

2.0    Background

Under Section 27 of the Local Electoral Act a local authority may resolve to change electoral systems. There are two electoral systems available – First Past The Post (FPP) or Single Transferable Vote (STV).

3.0    Key Definitions

  • Electoral System – as defined by the Local Electoral Act 2001.

4.0    Policy

At a meeting on 10 September 2014, the Council resolved to use the First Past the Post electoral system for the 2016 and 2019 local elections.

This applies to all Timaru District Council elections (e.g. Mayor, Council, Community Board).

Adopted Council 10 September 2014

Last updated: 24 Feb 2021