By-Election Result

Latest News & Media Releases

Published: 07 Sep 2017

Declaration of Result

In accordance with section 86 of the Local Electoral Act 2001, I hereby declare the results for the following election held on Tuesday 5 September 2017.

I confirm that the official result was determined after the scrutiny of the roll was completed, the validity of all special votes was determined and all valid votes were counted.

Timaru Ward Councillor

(1 elected)

CandidateAffiliationVotes Received
BOWEN, Nigel 5,241
ROGERS, Mark 1,795
BRIEN, Anthony 1,338
JACKSON, Owen (OJ)Independent1,255
CLEVERLEY, Murray 823

I therefore declare Nigel William BOWEN to be elected.

The voter return was 45.23%, being 10,483 voting papers.

Mark Low
Electoral Officer
Timaru District Council

8 September 2017

Last updated: 24 Feb 2021