Nominations are Open!

Latest News & Media Releases

Published: 26 Jul 2016

Nominations for candidates wishing to stand in this year’s local authority elections have now opened. Nominations close at noon sharp on Friday 12 August.

Electoral Officer, Mark Low says anyone wishing to stand as a candidate for the Timaru District Council as a Mayor, Councillor or Community Board Member, South Canterbury District Health Board, Geraldine Licensing Trust or Environment Canterbury should get their nominations in now.

“We are encouraging anyone who wants to make a difference in the local community to stand.  After all, local government and local democracy are fundamental to our society giving the opportunity for everyone’s voice to be heard. Elected members exercise a leadership role in our towns, cities and regions and represent the views of the community”.

“We need a range of elected members of different ages, ethnicities and backgrounds to ensure our council represents the diversity of our community.”

“Anyone over the age of 18 can stand for election as long as they are a New Zealand citizen and enrolled on the electoral roll.”

Environment Canterbury is returning to the local elections after last being part of them in 2007. In Timaru District, one member will be elected for the South Canterbury Constituency of Environment Canterbury.

Information packs are available for all four sets of local elections. These could be collected from the Council’s main office in Timaru, Council Service Centres, online at, by email from or by phoning (03) 687 7200.

Confirmed nominations can be viewed at

Also underway is the update to the electoral roll, based on the Parliamentary Electoral Roll. Electors should have received an update pack from the Electoral Commission to update their details. Information about how to enrol as a parliamentary elector may be found on the Electoral Commission’s website – or by phoning 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56).

Voting papers will be sent out from 16 September 2016 and must be received by midday on Election Day, 8 October 2016.

For further information please contact:

Mark Low (Electoral Officer) or Phillipa Tsukigawa (Deputy Electoral Officer) tel (03) 687 7200

Last updated: 24 Feb 2021