Time’s nearly up for potential candidates in Timaru Ward by-election

Latest News & Media Releases

Published: 07 Jul 2017

Four nominations have been received to date for the Timaru ward by-election for Timaru District Council to replace former-Councillor Tracy Tierney.

Electoral Officer Mark Low is reminding people they only have until Noon on Monday 10 July to get their nominations in, or run the risk of missing out.

Anyone wishing to stand as a candidate should get their nominations in well before the Noon deadline.

“Nominations need to be checked to ensure they are valid. If you leave your nomination to the last minute and there is an error or something lacking you may not have time to correct it before nominations close.”

All nomination documents were required to be submitted together, before a nomination can be accepted. These documents include the nomination form, nomination deposit of $200.00, and the optional 150 word candidate profile statement and photo. The Electoral Officer cannot accept candidate profile statements and photos submitted at a later date, also if your cheque or payment for the deposit is dishonoured the nomination is void.

Anyone over the age of 18 can stand for election as long as they are a New Zealand citizen and enrolled on the Parliamentary electoral roll. Anyone wishing to stand as an elected member must be nominated by two people enrolled in the Timaru Ward area and pay a deposit of $200.

Information packs for the byelection are available online at www.timaru.govt.nz, from the Council’s main office in Timaru, Council Service Centres, or by phoning (03) 687 7200.

Information about how to enrol as a parliamentary elector may be found on the Electoral Commission’s website – www.elections.govt.nz or by phoning 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56).

The deadline for nominations is Noon on Monday 10 July. Voting papers will be sent out from Monday 14 August 2017 and must be mailed to the council by midday on Election Day, Tuesday 5 September 2017.

For further information please contact:

Mark Low (Electoral Officer) or Phillipa Tsukigawa (Deputy Electoral Officer) tel (03) 687 7200

Nominations can be viewed on the TDC website – https://www.timaru.govt.nz/council/elections/timaru-ward-byelection-2017

Last updated: 24 Feb 2021